Another gun thread

Right? Left? Centre?
Political news and debate.
Put your views and articles up for debate and destruction!
ex-khobar Andy

Another gun thread

Post by ex-khobar Andy »

https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archi ... se/672993/
Originalism is going to get women killed.

A federal court has ruled that a law barring domestic-violence offenders from owning firearms is unconstitutional.
It seems that common sense rules about gun ownership which even the most hawkish NRA types probably agree with - is unconstitutional. A paragraph from the piece is below - underlining is mine. I have an Atlantic subscription and I will copy the whole piece if anyone needs me to do so.
A three-judge panel unanimously ruled that the Second Amendment was violated by a federal statute that made possessing a gun unlawful for a person who is subject to a restraining order in protection of an intimate partner or child. Its explanation for this dangerous ruling was a straightforward application of originalism. The Founders mentioned a right to keep and bear arms in the Constitution. They did not, however, mention women, who are disproportionately victimized by domestic violence. And although today’s lawmakers may care about women’s rights, they cannot deviate from the Founders’ wishes without a formal constitutional amendment. This will almost assuredly have very real, potentially fatal consequences for women in America: The presence of a gun in a domestic-violence situation increases the risk of femicide by more than 1,000 percent. Originalism is going to get women killed.

Burning Petard

Re: Another gun thread

Post by Burning Petard »